OHSU Biomedical Engineering faculty receive an American Heart Association Institutional Undergraduate Student Fellowship Award

03/01/18  Portland, Ore.

The Department of Biomedical Engineering has been awarded a three-year grant from the American Heart Association to create the OHSU Undergraduate Student Fellowship program in cardiovascular sciences. The BME faculty team consisting of Drs. Owen McCarty, Sandra Rugonyi and Monica Hinds will train undergraduate college students during a 10 week research experience in three areas: 1) modeling of blood flow and thrombus formation, 2) the pathways by which blood platelets activate to form blood clots, and 3) the development of new biomaterials to create non- thrombogenic small diameter vascular grafts.

The objective of the award is to encourage students from all disciplines to consider research careers in areas that are relevant for the mission of the AHA: building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. Scholarships will be awarded starting for the summer of 2018. 


OHSU BME faculty members:
Drs. Owen McCarty, Monica Hinds and Sandra Rugonyi