News, Events, and Awards

OHSU 2018 Department of Medicine Awards

Congratulations to this year's Department of Medicine Award Winners. In the Fellow Teaching Awards category, winners include: Drs. Tony Adams, Parshawn Lahiji, Ran Ran, Benjamin Arthurs, and Brent Matsuda. Winners of the Faculty Teaching Awards include: Drs. Kelly C. Vranas, Christopher Slatore, and Mark Deffebach. Congratulations to all!

Dave Lewinsohn award recipient at ATS 2018

2018 PCCM at ATS

This year at the American Thoracic Society (ATS) Conference Dr. Dave Lewinsohn won the Pulmonary Infections and Tuberculosis Senior Level Award. Congratulations Dr. Lewinsohn!

Giants in Chest Medicine: Dr. Sonia Buist

Our very own Dr. Sonia Buist was featured in CHEST as a Giant in Chest Medicine. Follow the link below to read the article and learn about Dr. Buist's career.

Giants in Chest Medicine: Professor Emerita A. Sonia Buist, MBChB, MD

Gold, Nonas & Pak featured in the Simulation Center

Check out the KATU-TV video below showing Drs. Stephanie Nonas, Jon Pak, and Jeff Gold in the Mark Richardson Interprofessional Simulation Center, training residents and fellows for real life scenarios. Read more about it here.

Vranas published in the Society of Critical Care Medicine

Our own Kelly C. Vranas recently presented her research at a plenary session at Society of Critical Care Medicine in San Antonio, TX this past February. That work was subsequently published in the Society of Critical Care Medicine Journal.   Read the publication here!

PCCM Welcomes New Faculty

We are pleased to announce PCCM's newest faculty member Dr. Bishoy Zakhary. Bishoy joins the faculty, as of January 29, 2018, after his time in the NYU School of Medicine as an Assistant Professor.

Fellows Update

James Case, MD (CCM Fellow '13) was recently published in the Indian Journal of Critical Care. Check out his publication here.

PCCM Welcomes New Faculty

We are pleased to announce PCCM's newest faculty member Dr. Anna Brady. Anna joins the faculty, as of August 15, 2017, after her time in the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Dr. Jacoby to lead Department of Medicine

OHSU School of Medicine Dean Sharon Anderson announced that David Jacoby, M.D., will serve as interim chair of the Department of Medicine, effective August 1. He will also retain his role as division head of pulmonary and critical care.

Dr. Nonas promoted to Associate Professor

Dr. Stephanie Nonas was promoted to Associate Professor of Medicine during the 2017 Promotion and Tenure review. Dr. Nonas also serves as the Director of the Medical ICU, Medical Director of Respiratory Care, and Associate Director of ECLS/ECMO Extracorporeal Life Support.

PCCM Welcomes New Faculty

We are pleased to announce PCCM's newest faculty member Dr. Kelly Vranas. Kelly joins the faculty, as of July 1, 2017, after recently graduating from the Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program. Learn more about her here!

Staff Awards - 2017 OHSU Department of Medicine Banquet

At the end of every academic year, the OHSU Department of Medicine holds a banquet for faulty and staff across the department. At this year's dinner, PCCM took home a host of awards, including:

  • House Staff Teaching Awards: Tony Adams, Parshawn Lahiji, Srini Mukundan, Ran Ran, Peter Jackson, Greg Ranches  
  • Junior Faculty Teaching Awards: Katie Artis, Brian Jones  
  • Senior Faculty Teaching Award: Jeff Gold  
  • Chief Resident's Award: Stephanie Nonas

2017 American Thoracic Society Conference

2017 ATS Conference

 PCCM faculty and fellows recently attended the 2017 ATS Conference in Washington DC - 5 days filled with poster presentations, symposiums, and seminars - many of which were presented by PCCM faculty and fellows. The Division ended the conference receiving numerous awards, including:

  • Dr. Elly Karamooz was named a Rising Star Researcher by the MTPI Assembly.    
  • Drs. Emily Jonas & Ben Arthurs each received an ATS Travel Award from the CC Assembly for their Abstracts
  • Dr. Ran Ran received 2nd place for his video for Best Audio-Visual Learning Activity
  • OHSU received the ATS Innovations in Fellowship Education Award - check out the report here - page 8!