Dr. Ken Azarow appointed Mackenzie Professor and Chair

March 11, 2019

Kenneth Azarow, M.D., FACS, FAAP, Chair, Department of SurgeryWe're proud to announce that Ken Azarow, M.D., FACS, FAAP has been appointed chair of the Department of Surgery. Dr. Azarow has served as interim chair since September 2016 and his permanent appointment comes after a thorough national search. We're looking forward to his continued leadership and vision for our faculty, programs and trainees.


Welcome to the OHSU Department of Surgery. We strive for excellence in education, research, scholarship, clinical practice and community service. Through our dynamic, interdisciplinary environment, we stimulate the spirit of inquiry, initiative, and cooperation among diverse students, faculty and administration.

OHSU surgery residents chosen for ACGME Back to Bedside Initiative

October 26, 2017Surgery Residents Katherine Kelley, M.D. and Heather Hoops, M.D. are recipients of the competitive ACGME Back to Bedside grant program

OHSU general surgery residents Katherine Kelley, M.D. and Heather Hoops, M.D. are recipients of a competitive grant aimed at improving resident-patient interaction while reducing burnout.

Drs. Hoops and Kelley hope to improve the physician-patient relationship by helping residents more fully appreciate what their patients experience before and after certain procedures. Read more about their two year plan and the Back to Bedside Initiative.

Grand Rounds Conference

The Department of Surgery Grand Rounds Conference is held from 7:30 - 8:30 a.m. in the OHSU Auditorium on Monday mornings.

View the 2018-2019 Department of Surgery Grand Rounds schedule and learn more about our annual endowed lectureships

Live stream our Grand Rounds conference or watch archived presentations (OHSU credentials required)