The OHSU Department of Surgery is comprised of more than 100 full-time clinical faculty and three full-time research faculty who serve as members of major national surgical societies, NIH study sections and specialty boards. We are committed to faculty development and recruit providers based on their clinical strengths and expertise, research potential, teaching interest, talent and alignment with our values. We aim to increase NIH funding, devote more time to resident education, provide the most innovative and advanced healthcare options to our community and grow our department as a nationally recognized entity. 

Kenneth Azarow, M.D., Interim ChairmanMackenzie Professor and Chair
Surgeon-in-Chief, OHSU & Doernbecher Children's Hospital

Kenneth S. Azarow, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.A.A.P. (pictured)

Vice-Chair, Administration

Sally Rodgers, M.A., M.H.A., F.A.C.M.P.E.

Associate Administrator

Mark Valadez, M.S.

Vice-Chair, Clinical

Vice-Chair, Education

Karen J. Brasel, M.D., M.P.H.

Vice Chair, Research

Bruce M. Wolfe, M.D, F.A.C.S., F.A.S.M.B.S.

Vice Co-Chairs, Quality

Brett C. Sheppard, M.D.
Sanjay Krishnaswami, M.D.

Vice Chair, VA Affairs

Robert McLafferty, M.D.