ARCS names nine new OHSU scholars in Graduate Studies program

November 8, 2016

The Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Foundation Oregon Chapter has named nine new scholars in the OHSU School of Medicine's Graduate Studies program. Each scholar receives $18,000 over three years.

Please join the OHSU School of Medicine in congratulating: 

  • Hillary Handler, Neuroscience Graduate Program
  • John Koberstein, Neuroscience Graduate Program
  • Alexandria Lassetter, Neuroscience Graduate Program
  • Emily Leff, Neuroscience Graduate Program
  • Thomas Navis, Program in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Gail Stonebarger, Program in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Sydney Weber, Program in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Jordan Lueras, Program in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Alexandra Quackenbush, Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences-Cancer Biology 

ARCS Foundation Oregon Chapter supports students in doctoral programs at OHSU, Oregon State University and the University of Oregon to take on the science challenges of today and tomorrow.

"These scholars are the next generation of problem-solvers in Oregon and the United States," said Allison Fryer, Ph.D., associate dean of graduate studies, OHSU School of Medicine. "We are trying to recruit the very best students into our labs to work with our faculty. ARCS helps us do that. We are deeply grateful for our partnership with ARCS."

The ARCS Foundation Oregon Chapter incorporated in 2004 and since then has awarded more than 175 scholar awards totaling $2.8 million. 

Learn more about all the current ARCS scholars on the ARCS Foundation-Oregon Chapter website and meet some of them in this video.