Eight new OHSU graduate students selected as ARCS scholars

October 28, 2015

Scholar Doug Zeppenfeld with Scholar Relations VP Deb StockEight new students from the OHSU School of Medicine Graduate Studies program have been named as ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists) Foundation Scholars. The ARCS Foundation is a national women's group that aids advancement in science and technology by addressing the country's need for new scientists and engineers. 

ARCS supports exceptional students at 54 top U.S. research universities. Only U.S. universities whose departments are ranked in the top 100 nationally are eligible to receive ARCS Foundation scholar awards. Specifically, the Portland chapter supports students at OHSU, Oregon State University (OSU) and University of Oregon (UO) so they may take on the science challenges of today and tomorrow. In just ten years, the Portland chapter has given 150 awards totaling more than $2.5 million to students at these three Oregon universities.

"I moved to Oregon from New Hampshire to study at OHSU, and the ARCS award has helped me cover the costs of my relocation, allowing me to focus on getting the best start I can in my graduate studies. I've come to learn, though, that ARCS is more than just the award – it's also a diverse network of invaluable connections with other scholars and ARCS members to whom I can reach out for support and guidance during my graduate career," said scholar Mariya Shapiro.

Doctoral student Keith Early agrees: "As an out-of-state student with no friends or family in the area, ARCS has both given me the social framework to meet and network with other scholars, as well as the financial support to move out here, buy a bike for commuting and find a convenient apartment that would have been difficult to finance on a graduate student budget. The award sponsors are also a great support system, and the program gives you many opportunities to present your research towards a more lay audience, which is important for developing as a scientist."

ARCS scholars Samantha Friedrich and donors Bob and Janis Harrison The ARCS Foundation Scholar Award is payable over three years, with each award presented in October. Nine out of ten ARCS scholars go on to work in their field, conducting significant research in fields of science and technology;receiving patents; publishing extensively in major science journals; receiving numerous awards; and founding businesses.

"We are deeply grateful for OHSU's partnership with the ARCS Foundation. The financial support and sense of community provided by the women of ARCS shows all our graduate students that people in the Pacific Northwest are invested in higher education and scientific discovery. With the support of ARCS, we can build the pipeline of future scientists," said Allison Fryer, Ph.D., associate dean for graduate studies and professor of medicine, OHSU School of Medicine. 

In addition to the School of Medicine's eight graduate studies scholars, ARCS gave two awards to students in the OHSU School of Nursing. Two students from the UO also received awards, as well as 11 students from OSU. Please join the School of Medicine in congratulating these 2015 ARCS scholars:   

  • Samuel Berk, Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences
  • Eran Brown, Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences
  • Keith Earley, Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences
  • Samantha Friedrich, Program in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Daniel Miller, Neuroscience Graduate Program
  • Carolynn Rafa Todd, Program in Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Mariya Shapiro, Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences
  • Doug Zeppenfeld, Neuroscience Graduate Program

Complete bios and research interests may be found on the ARCS website

Featured above:

Top right: Scholar Doug Zeppenfeld with Scholar Relations VP Deb Stock

Bottom left: Scholar Samantha Friedrich and donors Bob and Janis Harrison