American Urological Association recognizes two OHSU School of Medicine faculty physicians

May 19, 2015

During its annual meeting May 15-19, the American Urological Association recognized two OHSU School of Medicine faculty members for contributions to the specialty of urology.

John Barry, urology, award, medicine, honorJohn Barry, M.D., professor of urology, received the 2015 Ramon Guiteras Award – the association's most prestigious honor – for outstanding contributions to the art and science of urology. In a letter from AUA President William W. Bohnert, M.D., and Awards Committee Chair Sushil Lacy, M.D., Dr. Barry was commended for being "an artist, an innovator, an educator, a leader as president of the WSAUA, ABU and AUA, and as a surgical scientist in multiple urological modalities, most notably in renal transplantation."

The Ramon Guiteras Award is given annually to an individual who is deemed to have made outstanding contributions to the art and science of urology, and was first presented in 1963 to Dr. Hugh J. Jewett. Read about additional award winners on the AUA website.

Jason Hedges, M.D., assistant professor of urology, was given the Outstanding Reviewer in 2014 Award by the editors of The Journal of Urology. Dr. Hedges received the award for his "dedicated service and timely reviews of manuscripts on BPH; Infections/Inflammation; Sexual Function/Infertility; and Trauma."

An editorial will be published in the June issue of The Journal of Urology describing Dr. Hedges's award. 

Jason Hedges, urology, award, display, medicine

Pictured (top to bottom): Dr. Barry; a display at the AUA meeting recognizing Dr. Hedges.