Faculty mentors spark medical students’ research ambitions

June 12, 2018

Nine School of Medicine faculty members have been recognized with Scholarly Projects Outstanding Mentor Awards, based on nominations from medical students who worked with them on their projects. The award winners were chosen from mentors who worked on the 123 scholarly projects presented in March. This is a new award, corresponding with the first capstone event.

Learn more about the Scholarly Projects curriculum and the spring capstone event

Dr. Heidi Nelson at the Scholarly Projects capstone event"This recognition attests to the faculty member's commitment and excellence in mentoring students," said Heidi D. Nelson, M.D., M.P.H., M.A.C.P., F.R.C.P., research professor and vice chair of medical informatics and clinical epidemiology and medicine, and director of scholarly projects, OHSU School of Medicine. "It's good for the faculty to be acknowledged for their outstanding contributions to medical education."

The nomination process consisted of students submitting statements up to 250 words describing why their chosen faculty members were effective mentors. Nomination statements included the following:

"He is the best mentor I have ever had. My experience working with him has affirmed my desire to make research a significant part of my career."

"She continued to encourage me, advocate for me, and guide me through the entirety of the process. I could not have had a better mentor and I feel very strongly she deserves to be recognized for all her help and support."

"She provided the type of mentorship that I've been seeking throughout medical school. She valued my ideas at every step of the way of my research, she challenged me to grow as a critical thinker, and she went well out of her way to teach and support me, demonstrating her commitment to my learning and career goals."

Dr. Nelson said "until I read the statements submitted, I wasn't sure what this award meant. We had planned to sift through and pick the statements that were most compelling, but quite honestly, each one was compelling."

Award-winner Holly Hinson, M.D., assistant professor of neurology and emergency medicine, OHSU School of Medicine, said "Providing mentorship is one of the great joys of my academic career and helps me avoid burnout. I gain so much from the fresh perspectives of my trainees that challenges me to deepen my own scientific understanding. It is an honor to be recognized in this way!"

The nine inaugural recipients of this award are:

  • Joshi Alumkal, M.D., associate professor of medicine and molecular and medical genetics, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Steven Bailey, M.D., associate professor of ophthalmology, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Patty Carney, M.S.N., Ph.D., professor of family medicine, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Megan Furnari, M.D., instructor of pediatrics, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Holly Hinson, M.D., assistant professor of neurology and emergency medicine, OHSU School of Medicine
  • David Lieberman, M.D., professor of medicine, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Timur Mitin, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of radiation medicine, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Jennifer Pasko, M.D., house officer, Department of Surgery, OHSU School of Medicine
  • Craig Warden, M.D., professor of emergency medicine, OHSU School of Medicine

Photo by Aaron Bieleck. Dr. Heidi Nelson at the Scholarly Projects capstone event in March 2018.