A pathway to mastering improvement science

FISC program celebrates first cohort and curricula

July 5, 2016

The OHSU School of Medicine celebrated in June its first cohort of a program aimed at developing the "third science" in both undergraduate and graduate medical education programs. The Foundational Improvement Science Curriculum program trains OHSU educators to master the tools and expertise unique to teaching improvement science. This "third science" of medical education builds on the traditional basic and clinical sciences.

FISC cohort one participants

"FISC is a pathway to build faculty competence and confidence in teaching quality improvement and related concepts to our medical students, residents and clinical fellows. Applying what they learn in the curricula being developed will help improve care and position our learners to better participate in OPEx (OHSU's quality improvement framework). It will also help our students and trainees develop valuable tools that they can market to future employers. Indeed, in today's health care environment, these skills are just as important as clinical skills," said George Mejicano, M.D., senior associate dean for education and FISC program year one participant.

The FISC program builds faculty capacity by giving educators the tools to develop, implement and evaluate foundational curricula in improvement science – creating a cascading effect as they then teach students and trainees in the resulting curricula. Importantly, it also helps undergraduate and graduate medical education programs meet LCME and ACGME requirements related to quality improvement and patient safety.

FISC facultyA reception was held June 29 to showcase the completed curricula which will be implemented during academic year 2017 (see list below). Recruitment for the second FISC cohort is underway.

Congratulations to the following 24 faculty and education leaders from 14 GME, UME and School of Nursing educational programs who make up the inaugural FISC cohort:

  • David Adelson, M.D. – dermatology residency
  • Patrick Brunett, M.D., FACEP – GME
  • Jeffrey Dueker, M.D., M.S. – internal medicine residency
  • Dmitry Dukhovny, M.D., MPH – neonatology fellowship
  • Cathy Emeis, Ph.D., CNM – doctor of nursing practice
  • Jill Gelow, M.D., MPH, FACC – cardiovascular medicine fellowship
  • Paul Gorman, M.D. – UME
  • Tamara Grigsby, M.D. – pediatrics residency
  • Shona Hunsaker, M.D. – internal medicine residency
  • Seiko Izumi, Ph.D., RN – doctor of nursing practice
  • Ericka King, M.D. – otolaryngology residency
  • George Mejicano, M.D. – UME
  • Christina Sayama, M.D., MPH – neurological surgery residency
  • Brian Scottoline, M.D., Ph.D. – neonatology fellowship
  • Amy Stenson, M.D. – obstetrics and gynecology residency
  • Khoi Than, M.D. – neurological surgery fellowship
  • Fred Tibayan, M.D. – cardiothoracic surgery fellowship
  • Annette Totten, Ph.D. – medical informatics
  • Teresa Turnbull, DNP, FNP-C, DCC – doctor of nursing practice
  • Paula Vanderford, M.D., FAAP – pediatrics critical care fellowship
  • Jamie Warren, M.D., MPH – pediatrics elective and neonatology fellowship
  • Nikki Wiggins, RN – neonatology fellowship
  • Shannon Winchester, MBA, MAT – dermatology residency
  • Eric Wiser, M.D. – family medicine residency

Pictured (top): FISC program participants celebrate during a June 29 reception; (bottom, left to right)) FISC program faculty are Kim Irish, M.S., CPHQ, Sherril Gelmon, Dr.PH., Moira Ray, M.D., MPH, and Matthew Diveronica, M.D.