Dr. Orwoll elected to Association of American Physicians

April 28, 2014

Eric Orwoll, M.D.Eric Orwoll, M.D., professor of medicine and associate dean for clinical science, was elected to the Association of American Physicians during its annual meeting April 25-27 in Chicago. 

The AAP is a nonprofit, professional organization founded in 1885 for "the advancement of scientific and practical medicine."

Dr. Orwoll joins about 1,300 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries, including these School of Medicine faculty members and leaders:

  • Sharon Anderson, M.D., interim chair and professor of medicine
  • Grover Bagby, M.D., professor of medicine
  • Richard Deyo, M.D., MPH, professor of family medicine
  • Brian Druker, M.D., professor of medicine; director, OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
  • David Ellison, M.D., professor of medicine
  • Sanjiv Kaul, M.D., professor of medicine; co-director, OHSU Knight Cardiovascular Institute
  • John Kendall, M.D., dean emeritus
  • David Lieberman, M.D., professor of medicine
  • James Rosenbaum, M.D., professor of ophthalmology
  • Peter Rotwein, M.D., professor and chair of biochemistry and molecular biology

Each year, individuals who have attained excellence in achieving AAP goals are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.