Dr. Sima Desai chair-elect of national ACGME review committee

Feb. 5, 2018

Sima Desai, M.D.Sima Desai, M.D. R '98, associate professor of medicine, OHSU School of Medicine, is the chair-elect of the Internal Medicine Residency Review Committee for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). Dr. Desai has been a member of the RRC since 2014 and currently serves on the Executive Committee for the Internal Medicine Review Committee; her service as chair will begin in July 2019. The ACGME is an independent, nonprofit, physician-led organization that sets and monitors the professional educational standards for trainee physicians. Review committees set accreditation standards and provide a peer evaluation of residency programs and fellowships.

"Sima's election to this important position reflects well on the outstanding and innovative leadership she has provided at OHSU for many years, as well as on the consistent quality of our residency and fellowship programs," said David Jacoby, M.D., Edwards Professor of Pulmonary Medicine and interim chair of medicine, OHSU School of Medicine.

As a former resident and chief medical resident here, her experience with and advocacy for trainees at OHSU is long-standing. Dr. Desai has been a member of the faculty since 1998, when she began as a hospitalist clinician educator in the Department of Medicine's Division of Hospital Medicine. Dr. Desai was an associate program director in the Internal Medicine residency program from 2004 to 2010, and became director of the program in 2010. Prior to that, she was section chief of the University Section of the Division of Hospital Medicine.

Regionally and nationally, Dr. Desai is active in helping to shape the future of internal medicine. She is a member of the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine Program Planning Committee, the Oregon Chapter of the American College of Physicians Governor's Council, and chair of the Oregon ACP Program Planning Committee.

In academic year 2016-2017, there were approximately 10,700 ACGME-accredited residency and fellowship programs in 154 specialties and subspecialties at approximately 800 sponsoring institutions. OHSU is home to 845 residents and fellows in 83 ACGME-accredited training programs.