Another win: OHSU student takes first in state 3MT competition

May 20, 2015

WinnersOHSU School of Medicine graduate student Katie Lebold took first place on Saturday, May 16 at the state’s Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition.

Drawing together students from OHSU, Oregon State University, Portland State University and the University of Oregon, Oregon’s 3MT is part of a worldwide presentation model pioneered by the University of Queensland in Australia.

In the 3MT model, graduate students from a myriad of disciplines are asked to synthesize complex research, distilling their thesis into a three minute presentation that must use everyday language. “The 3MT competition is a great opportunity for students to practice their communications skills,” said Allison Fryer, Ph.D., associate dean for graduate studies and professor of medicine, OHSU School of Medicine. “3MT helps students learn how to translate their research for a lay audience and, hopefully, instill others with enthusiasm for the subject matter, a skill that will serve students well throughout their careers.” 

Lebold, a student in the joint M.D./Ph.D. program, who currently studies in the lab of David B. Jacoby, Ph.D. professor of medicine* presented “Imaging dysfunctional nerves in asthma.” Second place winner and doctoral student in musicology, Alison Kaufman, from the University of Oregon presented “Benevento vs. Charlemagne.” The People’s Choice Award was given to Yu-Shan Wang from the Electrical and Computer Engineering program at PSU for her talk “Designing Manufacturable Integrated Circuits Fast and Cheap.”

Following the presentations, students, mentors, friends and families gathered in a reception made possible by a generous gift from the School of Medicine Alliance.

*Particulars:  David B. Jacoby, Ph.D. professor of medicine, head of pulmonary and critical care OHSU School of Medicine; vice chair for research in the department of medicine; and director of the M.D./Ph.D. training program

Celebrating Katie's win
Featured from left to right: Johanna Colgrove, M.D./Ph.D. coordinator; George Mejicano, M.D., senior associate dean for education; David Jacoby, M.D., Katie Lebold, and members of the School of Medicine Alliance, Sarah McCarty, Joan Foley, Pam Berg and Margaret Greene-Mejicano.