Dr. Stephen Robinson named interim chair of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine

Dr. Stephen RobinsonJuly 24, 2018

OHSU School of Medicine Dean Sharon Anderson, in collaboration with OHSU Health System CEO John Hunter, has selected Stephen T. Robinson, M.D., professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, as interim chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine. Dr. Robinson is currently executive vice chair for clinical anesthesia in the department.

Dr. Robinson succeeds Jeffrey Kirsch, M.D., professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, who served as department chair since he was recruited from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 2002. Dr. Kirsch continues to serve in his faculty role.

"APOM is an integral component of the health care operation and a key contributor to the education and research missions. Dr. Robinson will bring his 32 years of service and a solid understanding of the department across missions to support the faculty and staff in this essential leadership role," Dean Anderson said.

Dr. Robinson began his faculty career in 1986 at OHSU as an assistant professor of anesthesiology, OHSU School of Medicine. He began taking on supervisory roles during his first year, leading progressively larger aspects of APOM's clinical enterprise and rising to full professor. This year, he was promoted from vice chair for clinical anesthesia to executive vice chair.

Dr. Robinson's scholarly activities include cardiac anesthesia, safety and productivity, anesthesia equipment and monitoring, and anesthesia information systems. He served as advanced cardiac life support course director at OHSU for 10 years. He is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists Committee on Equipment and Facilities. Since 2010, he has been a member of the ASA's Abstract Review Subcommittee on Equipment, Monitoring and Engineering Technology, serving as chair from 2011 to 2016.

Dr. Robinson earned his M.D. at the University of Washington School of Medicine and completed a residency and clinical fellowship in anesthesiology at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York.

"In Steve, we have an unflappable, detail-minded leader who breaks down complex situations and moves quickly to resolve them one piece at a time," Dr. Hunter said. "Just recently, during an extremely busy overnight shift, Steve was among the first to come in to provide his expertise, maintaining excellent care for patients. He is a leader and a part of the team."

Dr. Robinson expressed his desire to continue the good work of the department.

"I am extremely proud of our department and humbled to be asked to serve," Dr. Robinson said. "I am equally interested in and committed to the work of our department across the research, education and clinical missions. I look forward to building on the foundation Dr. Kirsch laid, advocating for our department and collaborating across OHSU to support the excellent training, discovery and patient care that we deliver every day."

The School of Medicine is launching a national search for the next chair of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine. Nathan Selden, M.D., Ph.D., professor and chair of neurological surgery, OHSU School of Medicine, will chair the search committee.

"Please join me in congratulating Dr. Robinson," said Dean Anderson, "and in thanking Dr. Kirsch for his service."