SDAA Awards Luncheon 2014

                     Annual Meeting Honorary Alums

Dr. Rick Asai, Dr. Lee Emery, Dr. LeGrand Woolley, Dr. John Snyder, Dr. Roy Albrecht, Mary Clinton and Gary Cantwell were just some of those recognized at the Annual School of Dentistry Alumni Association Awards Luncheon, held at the Oregon Convention Center on April 5.

Rickland Asai, DMD '81, was recognized as the John C. Peterson Alumnus of the Year in a program that also honored Lee Emery, DMD '63, R '69 and LeGrand Woolley, DDS, MS '66 for their contributions as Legacy Faculty. Roy Albrecht, DMD '78, was awarded the Faculty Recognition Award by the student body.

Mary Clinton and Gary Cantwell (pictured above with SDAA Immediate Past President Steven W. Beadnell, DMD '80) were warmly received by those present as Honorary Alumni – a status awarded by vote of the Board of Directors of the School of Dentistry Alumni Association.

I am thrilled, honored and humbled to receive this prestigious award," said Mary Clinton. "This dental community has been so influential in my life beginning with my marriage to Jack after his freshman year at OHSU Dental School.  Since Jack's graduation, over 50 years ago, this community has provided many wonderful friendships, experiences and memories.  I feel blessed to experience firsthand the fruition of the dream and vision of a new state-of- the-art dental school.  Building a new school has been an intense preoccupation for our family, even before Jack became Dean. This is an exciting time, "Our Moment is Here"; the opening of the new school of dentistry is truly a dream come true. 

"I am so very grateful for this award and to be recognized as an Honorary Alum with our dear family friend of many years, Gary Cantwell.  Thank you for this most valued honor."

The President's Award was given by retiring Board President James A. Smith, DMD '81 to John Snyder, DMD '86, Dental Director and CEO, Permanente Dental Associates.

See photos from the 2014 Annual Awards Luncheon here. Award recipient profiles will be included in the Summer 2014 issue of Caementum.